The motion against FDI stirred up by the Opposition has been defeated. The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government, which has been strongly defending its policy on FDI in retail in both the Houses of the Parliament, has won the vote on FDI in retail sector in the Rajya Sabha

after much deliberations and heated debates over allowing foreign direct investment. After being adjourned for an hour, the Rajya Sabha resumed only to end up passing the FDI policy of the government, much to the Opposition's disappointment. 

The Rajya Sabha proceedings in a gist:

03.15 PM: Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari orally announces correction in voting numbers. UPA wins the FDI vote with 123-109 majority

03.13 PM: MPs protest about voting machines not working

03.12 PM: UPA govt wins FDI vote in Rajya Sabha with majority again

03.10 PM: Voting takes place again

03.07 PM: UPA govt wins FDI vote in Rajya Sabha with 116-95 majority. Members request re-vote 

03.03 PM: Voting begins in Rajya Sabh over FDI in retail in India

02.30 PM: The Upper House resumes proceedings. Debate on FDI continues. 

01.20 PM: Rajya Sabha is adjourned till 2.30 pm following Opposition's uproar over remarks by commerce minister Anand Sharma during FDI debat

12.30 PM:pm: Anand Sharma speaks on FDI in retail. Favours the govt policy saying that '11 states, farmers' organisations and consumer bodies have demanded allowing FDI in multi-brand retailing'

12.20 PM: Congress MP from Rajasthan Prabha Thakur says she favours FDI in retail

12.15 PM: Amar Singh, an Independent, speaks. Hits out at Mayawati for her 'flip-flops' on FDI

12.05 PM: Ram Vilas Paswan of the Lok Jan Shakti Party supports the government's FDI in retail policy

11.45 AM: CPI Member of Parliament D Raja begins debate on FDI in retail. Questions Centre's 'real intentions' behind allowing foreign direct investment

11.30 AM: Question Hour in Rajya Sabha suspended for the day. FDI debate continues.

Bureau Report

  • No comments found

Leave your comments

Use 'Ctrl+G' to toggle commenting language from Marathi to English and vice versa.